Ohio Valley Environmental Coalition

Page: One Two


WV E-Council's E-Day! 2005

March 30, 2005
Photos by Vivian Stockman

Page 1 of 2
See sidebar for links to other pages
Scroll down for photos

Over 30 groups and sustainable businesses participated in the West Virginia Environmental Councils 16th Annual E-Day! at the State Capitol. This year, we were located in the hallways in front of the House and Senate chambers, so we had loads of traffic. Later that evening, Steve Himes treated us to some great music before an emotional awards ceremony. Many thanks to the E-Council lobby team, staff and board of directors for pulling off an excellent E-Day!

2005 Award Winners:

  • Laura Forman Grassroots Environmental Activist--Judith S. Rodd
    Presented by: Sandy Fisher

  • Linda Schnautz Environmental Courage--Maria Gunnoe
    Presented by: Julian Martin

  • Green Entrepreneur--LaPaix Herb Farm, Myra Bonhage-Hale
    Presented by: Bob Hamburg

  • Chuck Chambers Public Service--Libby Chatfield
    Presented by: Cindy Rank

  • Mother Jones Award--Dave Saville
    Presented by: Frank Young

Below are some images from the day.

OVEC's Janet Fout, center, and WC Citizen Action Group's Julie Archer set up the Citizens for Clean Elections table as E-Day! begins.

West Virginia Highlands Conservancy's Julian Martin (left) and Dave Saville. This year, Dave received the WV Environmental Council highest honor, the Mother Jones Award.

Jimmy checks out the info at the Sludge Safety Project table.

The WV Highlands Conservancy display maps out the scourge of mountaintop removal county by county--see the red pacthes.

Unions miners man the Sludge Safety Project table.

Logan and Mingo County OVEC members stop by the table to check out our table.

See sidebar for links to other pages

     OVEC Home   Issues   Contact   Join   Site Map